IELTS essay - Animals should not be exploited or humans must use animals to satisfy them

A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Animal-powered transport, Blood sporting and what not ? In the recent days, the best creatures of the world, the animals which help humanity in many ways are being abused. I strongly feel that such activities should be seized and measures have to be taken to protect animals.

Importantly they keep up the "Food Chain". Pets are the best friends for humans and it protects our society and environment. Even dogs are used for sniffing the criminals in police department & armed forces. Also, Sea lions and military dolphins work with navy department to search the enemy divers and lost police personnel.

There are numerous non-governmental organizations and societies striving hard for the protection of animals. Even I visited the blue cross society in Chennai which is doing great on serving food and building shelter for orphaned domestic animals. People for Animals is another committee spread up in many areas and concentrates on protecting the fauna around.

On the contrary, animals are being exploited in many industries. Research Departments uses rats & cats for initial testing for medicines and even in cloning. Cow, Sheep and Goats are hunted badly for Meat & Skin to be used in the leather industry. Also few months back, it is was in the news that hundreds of elephants were poached for their tusks in Kenya.

In a nutshell, animals are also a part of this universe and it is every human's responsibility to safeguard the natural resources. Not but the least, if not protecting them, let us not be a part to destroy them.