Most argue that the advance of electronic communication is harmful towards human interpersonal skill

The use of electronic media has a negative effect on personal relationships between people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The way how people interact each other has been changed over a few decades. Most argue that the advance of electronic communication is harmful towards human interpersonal skill. However, I controversially believe that the use of this modern devices brings numerous positive effects to our lives.

People who argue that the utilization of digital media possess a negative attitude have one main reason. They point out that individuals become more reluctant to socialize in community as well as the widespread of this advent. They prefer to discuss or deliver information throughout the internet, instead of participating in verbal communication. A recent study of Leeds University reveals that it is imperative to allocate a few minutes assembling with family every day, sharing the difficulties faced in the office or even a funny story in the school, in order to build strong relationship. Unfortunately, this behavior does not make a sense these days because when parents and children gather in the same room in the evening or at night, they are busy to play with their own gadgets. Undoubtedly, high-tech has become an invisible barrier between people.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons for arguing that the electronic media is able to connect people effectively. Firstly, people can communicate with relatives easily, even in far distance, via digital features in social media. For instance, students in the foreign country using video call to contact their families. Many people also spend their leisure time to be in contact with old friends or colleagues via facebook, twitter, or other apps. Furthermore, young people are likely to make friends in the internet. All in all, the electronic media sharpen human ability to interact with others.

In conclusion, the application of electronic media can damage social bond because it leads to a decrease in direct communication between people. However, these device provide numerous ways for people to build strong relationship through social networking.