In my opinion, managing and maintaining interpersonal relations is the most important skill nowadays

What is a very important skill a person should learn in order to be successful in the world today? Choose one skill and use specific reasons and examples to support your choice.

Success is defined differently by different people. To some, success means earning huge amounts of money while others define it as being famous.In my opinion, managing and maintaining interpersonal relations is the most important skill to be successful in the world today. The fact that everything is interconnected and success is dependent on other people in terms of motivation and knowledge supports my opinion which I will explain further in the essay.

First, everything is interconnected and there is a need to be dependent on others. To achieve any goal help from different people is required throughout. The external influences have a lot to contribute even if one has perseverance and determination. For example, Steve jobs had been a successful business leader and had been renowned for his vision which revolutionized the computer industry. However, there were many others who had been a part of his journey which led him to the pinnacle of success. Whether they were engineers, dealers, marketers or friends and family, all of them supported him and shared his enthusiasm to change the tech industry. It clearly shows the interdependency on others to fulfill the desired goals. Managing and maintaining relations at personal as well as professional level not only lead one forward in the direction of their ambitions but is also a fulfilling experience. The encouragement from others along the way sparks motivation and makes one believe in thyself.

Second, learning from others adds a new perspective to one's thought process. Every successful person owe their success to mentors who provoked their thought process and helped expanding their horizons. There can be alternative solutions to a problem which is difficult to comprehend by an individual alone. Being well connected to others enriches knowledge. Learning from the mistakes of others is an added advantage. A strong relationship with different people can help one get an honest feedback for a situation or challenge. Hence learning from their experiences one can make a move accordingly. For example, Linkedin is a popular professional network wherein one can connect to business professionals and seek out help and guidance by participating in several chat groups or contacting them on individual level.

In conclusion, managing and maintaing relationships is necessary to be successful today. Help or guidance from others and learning from their mistakes enhances knowledge. It can help avoiding decisions which may not be fruitful in the long run. Success is attributed to many people in the process. External influences play a major role in attaining success.