Attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals

Hi Essay Forum members :)

Please give me some relevant feedback about Task Response, Coherence and Cohesion, Lexical Resource and Grammar on this visual writing.

Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals.

How true is this statement?

How far does colour influence people's health and capacity for work?

ANSWER

For many years ago, an outstanding discovery by psychologists has revealed that colour has been possible to influence people's feeling. This makes them think that offices and hospitals should be properly refurbished according to certain colour spectrum. However, this statement is totally true due to its profound effect towards individuals' emotion in which can go beyond what people can imagine.

With regards to the validity of the assertion regarding to whether or not it can influence people, it is obvious that according to a finding in Oxford University in 2009 mentioned that 83% of offices in the United Kingdom picked brightly colourful paint-job for the building and 76% of hospitals considered pastel colour to relax their patients. This finding leads to mainstream views of workers and patients that employees feel motivated by bright colour and patients feel relaxed by pastel colour. For example, Google Company uses many attractive colours which based on their theme, such as green, red, and yellow, whereas St Mary's hospital has combination of pastel colours in each patient's room. Therefore, the statement about colour is able to influence individuals' feeling is inevitably true.

However, colour is powerful. It is also possible to trigger bad occurrence either in offices or hospitals. This is because lack of attention towards colour for decorating the building, for instance, if a patient or employee has dark-coloured room, patient is going to feel depressed, and worker will feel bored. Thus, offices and hospitals should be more careful in selecting the colour that they are going to use to decorate the room.

In conclusion, selecting an appropriate colour for offices and hospitals is crucial due to its tremendous effects to individuals' emotion. This statement is definitely true. I personally recommend that all hospitals and offices should implement the same action for the sake of better influence in both places.