The authority is expected to allocate more budget to railroads instead of motorways

Topic:

Governments should spend more money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

(extracted from Cambridge IELTS 11 Writing Test 1 Task 2)

Nowadays, to meet the basic needs for worldwide population explosion, public transportation, especially locomotives, play an important role in people's daily commute. The authority is expected to allocate more budget to railroads instead of motorways. In this essay, I will strongly support the given opinion, regarding to various advantages brought by trains.

First of all, the growing population density is posing an alarming threat to the environment. On that account, train system could reduce the number of private means of transport and thus lower the amount of fumes emission into the atmosphere.

Moreover, as trains run on the respective and particular routes, they could avoid traffic congestion and accidents that are common on the motorways. That being said, commuters can get to the venue in a shorter period of time rather than waste their time waiting idly on the road.

Finally, since trains are already one of the safest ways of travelling, if they are well-invested, they could be more beneficial and profitable for not only the traffic purpose but also for many other fields. A proper example is Japan, a nation with highly innovated railway system. Despite the fact that the potential of railroads has long been exploited, some high-speed trains remain getting upgraded and are made to be luxurious travel tours. Not only do those bullet trains travel tours bring to the country both financial profit and social advantage, but they also helps to solve unemployment.

In conclusion, with a great deal of possibility to develop and profit, the railroads deserve proper investment by the officials, regardless of developed countries or developing ones.

_________________

Hi everyone!