Automatic translation between different languages - is it possible nowadays?

Some believe that the development of technology and improved software allow us to translate between languages automatically. Therefore, it is not necessary to learn foreign languages any more. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advanced technology has been invented to assist human in solving problems such as language barriers. Software, such as Google translator, is introduced to translate any language to other languages. However, in my opinion, I believe that it is important to master foreign languages although we have lots of machinery which can support us with the language difficulty. We can't rely on the existing technology because of its limitation and language could reflect our culture and creativity.

First at all, the translation software has only basic function with limited features. Most of the commercial software provides the conversion function between words, but they cannot translate a full sentences without any error. The conversion of a sentence is difficult for robot as languages have their unique structure and grammar. Besides that, the software hardly interprets synonym, which is a similar meaning with different words. Many synonyms have similar meaning or definition, but they are only applied in certain situation.

In addition, a language should not been stored or programmed in a software as it cannot reflect the culture which is hidden in the language. It is important to learn a language because the learning process allows us to explore the development of the languages. During the learning process, we could understand the culture of a race which has been using the language for thousands of years. Besides that, the machinery is unable to present the language creatively as human, or precisely poet or comedy. Language is not only used for communication purpose, but also for entertainment.

In conclusion, we should learn the basic of the language before we could rely on the technology. It is true that translation software has provided many conveniences, but they are not perfect tool which could totally replace a human being to use a languages. Certainly, it is important to learn a language to reflect the culture of a race, and also the creatively of using the language.