IELTS: Should we ban all forms of advertising?

The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

With the increasing competition among a medley of different advertisements, some advertising companies even use exaggerated or deceptive information to boost sales. It seems right to prohibit advertisements; however, a majority of them still serve the public in a useful aspect.

For the sake of getting a good result of marketing and competing with their counterparts, some advertisers exaggerate the effect of products. As a result of it, consumers who bought the goods due to the advert cannot benefit from it. Even worse, some of the advertisements have bad influence on the people who bought it. Plenty of evidence can be found in our daily lives, for example, a large amount of customers suffered from serious diseases, such as stroke or asthma, due to the deceptive advertisement of fake diet pills. Therefore, it is reasonable to ban this form of advertising.

On the other hand, not all types of advert give us useless information. Advertisements refer to a media strategy to enhance selling and a large proportion of them are serviceable oriented. They tell us the features of products, according which we could make decision to purchase desirable products. Meanwhile, abundant information from advertisements makes shipping much more efficient. This may include specialty, purchase channel or even price etc.

Based on all the understanding above, advertisements play a pivotal role in our daily lives. So the key is, I believe, to set regulations and censor advert strictly so that to prohibit deceptive advertisements.