Besides making money, enterprises should also have public responsibilities

TOPIC : AS WELL AS MAKING MONEY, BUSINESSES ALSO HAVE SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITIES. DO YOU AGREE OR DISAGREE

business and social responsibility

There is a spreading belief that besides making money, whether enterprises should also have public responsibilities or not is becoming a controversial question. In my opinion, I agree that while generating profits is a top priority, companies also need to conduct their business in a socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, the effort of companies to maximize their profits brings some benefits in a whole society. Firstly, the higher money earned by enterprises, the more taxes that they pay to governments. As a result, authorities can spend those taxes on constructing hospitals or schools, therefore enhancing the living standards for citizens. Secondly, by earning huge profits, enterprises have a chance to develop their production and create for people more job opportunities, which can lessen the unemployment rate in their countries.

On the other hand, there are essential reasons explaining why enterprises have to accept their social responsibilities to the common community. The first reason is that their activities have an effect on the environment. Without controls, their productions will cause some serious environmental degradation, such as global warming stemming from the factory emissions or irresponsible waste disposal. For example, if companies install waste treatment system instead of discharging the industrial wastes into rivers, the pollution can be limited and controlled. Another reason is that big corporations should help other small enterprises because they have enough money to do so. To more clarify, Vinamilk - which is a reputable corporation that improving their public image to consumers by philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships and giving the charitable donations.

In conclusion, although making money is a fundamental principle of every business, however, I would argue that they should have a profound understanding of their social responsibilities.