toefl: the best criterion for selecting a person to train others

QUESTION; You must select a person to teach others to do a job. Which one of the following is the most important for you to consider in making your selection?

- the person's education

- the person's work experience

- the quality of the person's previous work

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

I would certainly select the person with more work experience in the job, if I am to select a person to teach others to do a particular job. The reasons why I think it is more important than the other considerations, such as the person's education and the quality of the person's previous work, are reinforced by the following paragraphs;

Firstly, although a sound educational background is always a complement to one's career, it alone does not contribute for a person to perform up to what is expected by his employer. And in this task particularly, the person needs to have more practical exposure than academic qualifications since training others involve lots of human interactions that need to be effectively managed. For example, a manager may not be able to teach his subordinates how to operate a machine although he has a master's degree. He needs the practical experience in this task.

Secondly, a person who produces excellent results in his or her past assignments may have limited experience in the job. Also if this person is comparative a very junior person, he or she would lack confidence and maturity in tackling senior people. For example, suppose a junior clerk in a department who has been regarded as a very efficient worker in his job is asked to train a senior person from another department. This clerk may not be comfortable with this request since he lacks confidence and maturity to handle this senior. Further, the senior person may resist accepting what is taught by the junior clerk.

In contrast, a person with more work experience in the job has the necessary ability and exposure since he has faced many situations while performing the job. His vast experience as a senior person in a particular job has not only assisted him to be very confident with respect to any aspect of the job but also to be recognized by the others for his mastery. This would certainly be very advantageous for him to be accepted by others as a person who knows the best. Therefore he would have less difficulties in training others.

Considering these reasons, I conclude that the best criterion for selecting a person for this special task is to consider his or her work experience.