IS IT BETTER TO HAVE A LONGER LIFE AND HIGH LIFE EXPECTANCY?

a longer life and higher life expectancy

One of the consequences of medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disavantages? (WRITTING TASK 2)

A longer life and higher life expectancy are acknowledge as a result of a development in the medical care. Although this improvement has its benefits, I believe that its disadvantages could be more important.

On the one hand, a longer life could be a chance for the old to enjoy the rest of their life with their family. They could spend more time to do things that they have not done in their adulthood. For example, adults usually struggle to earn money and work hard to get success, so they could miss some experiences such as travelling or learing some instrument. Because of that, living longer will help them finish their wishes.

On the other hand, I think this improvement in the health care will lead to some negative impacts. Firstly, retired people could be feel lonely between their family members because those members also struggle to make earnings as the old before. They also could be a burden if they have health problems and need to be looked after to recover. Secondly, they could become a social problem due to the higher life expectancy. The population will be aged, which leads to the loss of human resoures. For instance, some countries now are being in the face of lacking of human resources because of the great number of people retired.

In conclusion, even though living longer and having a healthy life expectancy can make the elderly happier, its negative impacts on family members and society should not be underestimated.