IELTS task 2; is it better to participate in solo sports like tennis or swimming than a team sport?

Individual vs team sports

Task 2: Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. While other people think that taking part in individual sports is better, like tennis or swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It would be argued by some that it is better to participate in solo sports like tennis or swimming. In my opinion, however, they should engage in team sports like football.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some think that taking part in individual sports more advantages. Firstly, people who choose solo sports will have opportunities to develop independence. Because there are no helps during the game, they are forced to develop independent thinking and make their own decisions. Those who participate in team sports, by contrast, usually received supports from team members, this reason can prevent them to develop this skill. Secondly, that players in solo sports know that their success depends mostly on their effort, determination, concentration. Therefore, they always have to make every possible effort to achieve their goals.

On the other hand, I would argue that it would be better for people to engage in team sports like football. The reason is that these sports teach players valuable life lessons which they could not from individual sports. The football player is an example, they were taught the way to work effectively in a team environment and sacrifice themselves for the sake of their team. Another reason is these kinds of sports also taught player for leadership which is one of the most important skills in the world nowadays.

In conclusion, although some people think that people should be engaged in individual sports, I personally believe that team sports bring more benefits for them.