[WRTING TASK 2] Some people think it is more beneficial to take part in team sports than solo sport

Team vs Individual Sport

Opinions differ on whether team sports have more merits than solo sports. I am of the opinion that they are of equal benefit.

On the one hand, team sports can bring about several positive implications, two of which are development of interpersonal skills and opportunity to creat strong relationships. Regarding the former, if people want to win a victory in a team sport game, they have to understand how to support, encourage each other and also resolve conflicts, which would help them to enhance teamwork and communication skills. An illustration for this is that football players are taught to acknowledge how each individual in their teams plays in order to find a suitable arrangement within a match. Another point worth mentioning is that when individuals take part in sports which are played in teams, they would meet friends who share the same interest and are willing to help them overcome difficulty in playing sport. As a result, spending a long period of time with such supportive and cooperative teammates would strengthen friends' bonds.

Alongside this, individual sports can also be advantageous as they offer players a sense of independence and lessen pressure in playing sport. Looking at the first benefit, people participating in this kind of sport only have themselves to rely on; therefore, individuals would need to develop a strong mind to be able to deal with and overcome any setbacks they may face. This would result in the individuals' sense of ownership and responsibility. Concerning the latter, in individual sport, participants would gain more fun and fulfillment than stress during the training process. This is due to the fact that not only do athletes have the ability to learn at their own pace, but they also donnot have to keep up with other teammates.

In conclusion, all sports provide people with great benefits in terms of personal and interpersonal skills. As such, I believe that the advantages of these two types of sport are in equal measure.