Is it better to read books on paper or digital?

The answer to this question can generate a series of discussions on the matter. The truth is, that the answer can be very subjective, but let's analyze the pros and cons of each one.

Some people may say that reading books on paper is a thing of the past. You have to carry around a book, which implies a heavier bag. However, many people find it enjoyable to mark their books and leave annotations of their thoughts on the pages. Nobody can deny the smell of a book, which is a good reason to carry one. We can also think of physical books as part of the decoration, as pieces of our library. Some people like to collect special editions of their books.

What is special about digital books or e-books? They are cheaper than physical books and easier to carry around. You can have hundreds of books on your cellphone or in your Kindle to read at any time. E-books also allow you to customize your reading experience; you can change the font, the colour of the background, and the size of the font to make your reading more comfortable. You can also annotate in your e-books, not as extensively as in physical books, but it still allows you to share your thoughts on your reading. Another advantage is that we can reduce our consumption of paper and water, helping the planet. Despite all these advantages, e-books present a significant disadvantage. We live in a digital era when everything we have is digital, and we can lose such possessions if the companies that manage this data go bankrupt or decide to erase the data. If you lose your phone or device and you don't have a copy of it, all that information could be gone.

In conclusion, I can say it is easier to read digitally, but we can preserve books and our thoughts about them on paper.