A big chunk of people's earnings goes to purchasing material things

IELTS Task 2 1/20/2018 (USA)

Overspending on items

Task:

In many countries, as people are earning more these days they are also spending money in buying more and more items. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Response:

Studies have shown that as profit of citizens from different country increases, a big chunk of their earnings goes to purchasing material things. Personally, I believe that this is a forward to a negative growth of humans today. This article will tackle the different drawbacks of overspending money for material items.

One negative effect of this situation is the transformation of people to becoming materialistic. In other words, their character changes towards prioritizing happiness through material things. Furthermore, these people put too much value on money because it gives them the immediate happiness they are longing for. As a result, there is an unending desire of having more than what is already owned. For instance, mobile companies have been upgrading phones every year and a lot of people feel the need of being in the trend of the latest gadgets.

Another drawback is that humans set aside saving money for their future needs. People put too much of their money on other things and does not prioritize their future by saving money. This could effect when they would need emergency funds if future incidents happens. For example, when someone in their family gets sick they cannot help them because they have no savings on their account. This could mean another problem adding to the current endeavor that they are facing.

To conclude, the usage of money on products gives more negative effect than the benefit that one could get. They could have problems with needing money when emergency rises and they could have a materialistic character which is not helpful. These reasons outweigh the benefits of using profit for buying products.