IELTS task 2: Boarding schools are excellent for children, according to some people's opinion

Some people feel that boarding schools are an excellent option for children, while others disagree for a number of reasons.

Consider both sides and reach a conclusion

Nowadays, as education has become an essential part of bringing up a child, many people prefer their children to attend boarding school for some good reasons. However, others tend to be against the idea since they believe that school is not the only educational source to raise a child. We will go into these both views in this essay.

Firstly, school provides children with the most academic environment in which they can consume as much knowledge as they want. So, boarding schools should be considered to be a good option for parents who want their child to be a good student. Secondly, boarding schools can bring a big assistance to parents who are at work virtually all day. It is quite easy to understand that they have to spend their day at work and leave their child at home under no observation is very dangerous. Last but not least, being at school all day can help children to be more sociable and dependent. These advantages are important to build up not solely the child's knowledge but also his personality.

By contrast, opposite point of view points out that frequently staying away from parents can terribly affect family life. This happens when the child is so dependent that they can take care of themselves and take away the chance for their parent to care for them. In long-term, family members will become less closed leading to ignorance between family members. Another issue is that if the child got bullied at school and be unable to express themselves to their parents, they might suffer from depression and grow up being a person with mental problems. Moreover, a part from academic knowledge, other aspects around the child are also important and can only being taught carefully, which can only be provided by the parents.

Overall, it seems advisable that letting children at school all day can benefit them. However, terrible consequences of the idea should be taken into account as well. Since parents cannot observe and protect their child at school, it is necessary to be around them more often to ensure that they are open to parents and willing to ask for help.