Are boarding schools (students can live there during the term) an excellent option for children?

Writing Task 2 - Broading school

Some people feel that boarding schools (where students or pupils live at the school during the term) are an excellent option for children, while other people disagree for a number of reasons.

Consider both sides of this debate and reach a conclusion.

It is often said that boarding school is a great environment for children to develop. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. The essay will discuss the debate and give a concluding outlook.

On the one hand, those who support boarding school cite that living in the school all of term's time can form the principle in children which is ruined by various distractor sources. These sources range from the smartphone addiction, to noisy spaces and lack of parents' control. Meanwhile, other argument is that living far from home would make those students form the independent and confident, which are essential factors in the flat world. To a certain extent, attending boarding school can be a good stepping stone for students who want to study abroad in the future because its environment partially simulates the oversea environment.

On the other hand, opponents of this view point out that the restricted environment would be curtails the development of children, especially those in formative years. For instance, the students who are in school all of the time cannot have much outside opportunities like attending events, visiting heritages compared to the other counterparts. Moreover, it would seem that the generation gap would be extended due to less family time, which is quite large in this technology era. This issue can lead to endless conflicts between children and their parents in the coming times. Finally, it must be said that not all children are suited to study in boarding school, because of their own situation.

Overall, it seems advisable that the decision to put the children to boarding school should be considered seriously via their own interest, ability and family circumstances, rather than on the general view that it is an excellent option.