IELTS Essay : Borrowing money from a friend is harmful to friendship

Hi All,

Please review the my IELTS essay. I will highly appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you.

Topic: Borrowing money from a friend is harmful to friendship. Agree or disagree?

When in need, one often looks at one's loved ones such as friends and family to seek help. Similarly, to cope with monetary problems, it is quite natural to request a friend to lend the required amount of money. However, I am of the opinion that in such a case, it is wise not to borrow from a friend as it badly affects the relationship. Among various reasons to refrain from this practice, mistrust and jealousy are chief.

Firstly, money lent by a close acquaintance gives birth to mistrust among the two parties involved, if it is not returned on agreed upon time. Recently I found myself in a similar situation when I could not pay back the borrowed sum as I had not been able to arrange it on time. Consequently, my friend became suspicious whether the reason, I provided for not returning on time, was true or not. The mistrust eventually affected our relationship as the friendship is built upon trust in each other.

Another noteworthy reason of my distaste towards this practice is that it leads to jealousy in case the recipient of the money manages to make a fortune using the same amount. For instance, if I provide my friend with a hefty sum to aid him in restructuring his dwindling business and by luck he manages to make millions with this amount. I will undoubtedly become jealous of him on the account that it was my money and I should have been the one to reap its benefits not him.

To put it in a nutshell, even though an inexperienced eye may see no harm in borrowing money from friends however in the light of above mentioned points I will discourage this misunderstood practice. My recommendation will be to refer to a bank rather than turning to a friend, if one considers one's friendship dear.