IELTS TASK 2 : Business and marketing, promotion funds (which makes people buy their products)

multinational conglomerates selling power

Topic :Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Many conglomerates and big companies try to manipulate the market by spending a tremendous amount of money on marketing and promoting to encourage people to buy their merchandise. As a result, this leaves very little chance for local products can reach to the customers. More investment and advertising campaigns should be spent on gaining popularity for these underrated commodities.

A severe problem caused by the dominance of economic giants is the gradual disappearance of small businesses. To begin with, as a huge budget is used for advertising, products of large companies appear with dense frequency in front of consumers on every means of media such as televisions, websites, newspapers, or magazines. This leads to a predictable outcome that buyers will tend to choose their goods because of the feeling that widely known items will ensure much more secure than a local product with an unfamiliar origin. Consequently, without customers, small enterprises encounter various challenges and obstacles, especially the problem of profit. In order to survive in a competitive world, they must find a way to fight with these multinational groups. As this was never easy, many of them have come to failure and go out of business. Even when local entrepreneurs maintain their preservance, their companies still have to face up to the reality of manpower shortage when workers are hardly dedicated to a job of low salary. In many Vietnamese traditional craft villages, for instance, most of the artisans are from the older generation, meanwhile, 90% of the youth from these villages drop off to find a better career in big companies.

In an attempt to stop these disappearances, actions should be done to cheer people to buy local products. Firstly, local businessmen should be assisted with funds. Within an adequate financial support, they will be able to do marketing and expand the market. Furthermore, local traders should be trained on how to brand and make a clear strategy. They should also know how to show their advantage as their products are way more unique and suitable for local inhabitants than commercialized merchandise from big corps at a maximum level in their advertisements to appeal to customers and improve the quality of goods to ensure their customers want to come back. Fairs can also be held to promote their product and make their own special charm.

In conclusion, due to the fact that well-funded companies and multinational conglomerates harm the local businesses with a huge budget for advertisements, small and medium-sized enterprises should be provided financial support and other help to compete against these giants and attract more customers . It is suggested that the improvement and growth of local businesses will raise the local economy.