TASK 2-IELTS CAMBRIDGE 9- Some experts believe that it is better for children

Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Over the recent years, the age of learning a new language is increasingly becoming a debatable issue. There is a special ability for language learning in childhood. In addition, nowadays, learning an international language is an essential requirement for majority of occupational or educational opportunities. Although, some experts opine teaching a non-mother tongue in earlier ages may adversely affect children's mind, I strongly believe the drawbacks of an earlier acquiring of second language are overshadowed by the benefits due to children's greater learning ability and their more free time.

Firstly, correlating with psychology, children are blessed with brilliant ability to learn. Educationalists believe a child, in comparison with an adult, not only can learn incredibly faster, but simultaneously also they can be trained even three diverse languages.

Secondly, free time is an essential pre-requirement of any progress in our life. Adolescents usually suffer from lack of enough time to accomplish their goals. Take an engineer, who has been missing outstanding job vacancies due to lack of fluent English or Dutch knowledge, for example. Although, he has numerously planned to improve his English, he has failed to progress his language learning scheme due to his hectic life. However, children have plenty of sufficient leisure time which is often wasted.

On the other hand, it is psychologically believed earlier exposure to a non-mother language will cause long-lasting emotional effects on children because of differences between language structures which result in dispiriting them. Worse still, teachers in primary schools are generalists whereas training a foreign language, in particular, to children needs qualified specialists who can utilize modern and game-oriented methods for teaching.

In conclusion, learning an international language as a general unit in elementary school seems worthwhile; nonetheless, this scheme should be harnessed in a scientists-recommended approach to minimize its flaws.