CBEST: Bad memories should not be treated as a hindrance but as a learning opportunity.

Please give feedback on my essay and how to improve its structure and formation

Do memories hinder or help people in their effort to learn from the past and succeed in the present and future, Support with reasons and examples.

In my view, our past guides us in present and future. Bad memories should not be treated as a hindrance but as a learning opportunity.

There are many life events that have made me realize the importance of past. In school I was among bright and hardworking students who always top the list, but once in grade seven my grades were not good. I was so sad and depressed, my elder sister who knew all about it advise me to analyze all the mistakes and weaknesses that I have in those subjects, and work on the areas that need improvement. Later I found out that was the right approach, my grades went up and I was again on top students list.

Past events give us a chance to learn valuable lesson, and realize our mistakes, no matter how terrible the memory is, the hidden message help us in future. Ten years ago when stock market was going up my brother invested heavily in tech stocks, although father advised him not to invest in one sector, he didn't pay attention to his advice and finally lost when the market collapsed. Although he blew almost all of his savings, he realized his mistake of investing all in one industry and since then never repeated it. For this reason I also feel it's always good to take advice from elders as they also have lifetime experiences, which proved to be very valuable most of the time.

Sometimes we stuck in terrifying situation which leaves everlasting impression on our mind, we don't even like to discuss or think about them. But it's wiser if we analyze what went wrong and how to avoid it in future. For example, my friend who was very good driver had a car accident, in that she was badly injured. Although, it was the mistake of other driver who was driving fast and didn't indicate before changing lane. But at the time of accident my friend was not wearing the seat belt; if she was, the injuries could be less. Instead of not driving for the rest of her life, she should pay attention on safety measures.

Great people believe past life and memories guide us in future and make the journey of life easier, and so do I.