CBEST prompt- Restriction on how many years a teacher may teach the same subject or grade level?

Hi everyone, I am preparing for CBEST Writing. I failed for the first time because of poor usage, structure and conventions.

Can anyone take look at my essay please. Thank you so much.

Should there be any restriction on how many years a teacher may teach the same subject or grade level? explain your answer. Support your opinion with specific examples.

The issue of setting a certain number of year for teachers to teach the same subject is a controversial one. Some believe that it is easier for teachers to get bored if they keep teaching the same subject repeatedly. Others believe that teachers will find the proper teaching styles after experiencing several years. After careful thoughts, I think that it is beneficial for teachers to be more expert on the same subject and explore different styles after a long process.

First of all, it takes many years for teachers to be extremely familiar with the same object. Teachers are rarely gaining experiences if there is time limited for teaching the same subject. For example, my high school history teacher, an experienced and senior man, was able to give a sophisticated lecture without any notes and preparations. It is difficult for a young teacher to achieve the high level of familiarity and expertise if they only teach the same subject for couple years.

Secondly, Teachers can seek for different teaching styles and techniques. Teachers need to change and modify the teaching methods and skills constantly, and find the best way to teach. For instance, if a young teacher noticed that the teaching style was not effective for the class he can always fix his lesson plan and give an attempt for the next year. Changing the subject frequently would not allow teachers to practice and focus on the same subject.

Thirdly, teachers have less stress on teaching if they are only prepared for the same subject. Teacher should teach what they are specialized on. Being pressured about the unfamiliar subject or grade level would have negative effects on the class. If a fifth-grade teacher always teaches the English subject and the same grade level, he will feel relax and confident to handle different problems. The more experiences he has, the better performance he could achieve.

In conclusion, teachers would gain many benefits by teaching the same subjects or grade levels. It is important to give time for teachers to try multiple teaching methods, update their skill, and learn from experiences.