IELTS Writing Task 2: Changes in life

Question:

Some people enjoy changes, and they look forward to new experiences. Others life their lives to stay the same and they do not change their usual habits. Which approach do you prefer?

Answer:

When it comes to define the meaning of life, people have their different expectations. Some expect life to be full of changes and challenges while some expect totally the opposite. In my view, changes and uncertainties are the key attributes that make the life worthwhile.

Those who enjoy a life without change perhaps have a lack of sensitivity towards the uncertain future, so they cherish stability more than anything else. They want everything to be the same either because they feel satisfied with the status quo and would like the life to go on as what it is, or due to their lack of confidence in dealing with all those unpredictable issues or problems in the future.

Stability is something that is good for life, but it is change and new experiences that make people's lives fulfilled. Firstly, the life itself is a journey of handling changes and challenges. When we were babies, we learned to walk our first step and speak out the first word. When we were enrolled for the first time in school, we adjusted ourselves to the new environment and people around us. When we secured our first job offer, we got to know the bosses and colleagues the first time in our life. All these are changes that everybody should go through, without which life simply can't carry on. Secondly, changes in life bring us not only challenges, but also opportunities. Actually, the ability to turn changes into opportunities is behind the success of all those iconic figures. Steve Jobs, for example, is truly a master in coping with changes. His acute sensitivity towards the changes on the market enabled Apple to develop all those novel and fashionable products that are in line with the market changes.

In conclusion, it's my strong belief that changes are key to an accomplished life and successful career, and everybody should embrace the changes in life and enjoy them.