IELTS TASK 2: Are changes negative or positive???

Some people prefer to spend their lives doing the same things and avoiding change. Others, however, think that change is always a good thing. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a saying in my language "a ship is safe in a harbor, but that is not what ships are for." Many people all over the world are tend to consider changes as a very positive trend, while others try to avoid them. Although, there are some supporting aspects in favor of the negative effects of changes, I personally believe that the role of alterations in our lives is very important.

On the one hand, changes sometimes might be dangerous for our health. In other words, after changing something it might be difficult to adapt into it and as a result, it may cause some very serious health problems. For example, one of my relatives decided to move to foreign country, which was colder and rainier. As he used to warmer climate, his health condition started worsening day by day. As a result, it caused some major health problems for him. But the opponents of this view argue that the human beings are the most adaptable organisms in the Earth.

On the other hand, there are many benefits of alterations. Firstly, monotonous jobs make us very boring. The main reason for it is that we do the same things everyday and as a result, we shall have nothing interesting and new to say. Secondly, avoiding changes can lead people to loose communication skills. As a result, they can feel a lack of self-confidence while interacting with different people. Finally, changes help people to make their outlooks wider. As every change can be considered as an experience, which will directly have a positive impact on our minds and outlook.

In conclusion, It is my strong belief that the benefits of changes outweigh its drawbacks due to aforementioned reasons.