Changing jobs frequently?I feel it's good to continue at least for six years (IELTS)

People have different job expectations for job. Some people prefer to do the same job, for the same company. Others prefer to change the jobs frequently. Write advantages and disadvantages of each viewpoint.

In this modern fast world everything is keep on changing. It is applicable to jobs too. Some people prefer to change the jobs or even the workplace constantly, while others hesitate to adapt the frequent changes. I my essay I will explore the benefits and drawbacks of both views.

Working for the same company for a long period of time might help people to establish a solid position in that company. As they know the routine of the company and the higher authorities, it will be helpful for them to maintain a smooth relationship with work and life. Their long experience and loyalty are beneficial for higher benefits such increment in salary, bonus, pension and so on, according to seniority. Furthermore, this offers respect from other employees and they become eligible for higher position or promotion. Most importantly, the steady income, and job security are pivotal in this age of economic crisis to lead a standard life. Moreover, they can plan their future in a better way and the savings for future gives financial security and peace of mind. For instance, they can plan the higher education of their children early by starting a small recurrent fixed deposit from their regular income. As it is a small amount, it will not affect the budget and in future, it becomes a big amount. However, the monotonous job may feel boring or de- motivated for so many people and their quality of work may suffer.

On the other hand, there are so many reasons to support changing jobs. Chief among this is that, as they are more versatile and dynamic, they are able to cope with the challenges in their work place in a better way. Another point is that, it improves their employability. Working in several different jobs means that they have more skills. Additionally, constant changes enable them to enrich their life experiences, which is an integral part of an exciting life worth living. They will never get bored in one job or left unemployed, as they have differential skills. Nevertheless, employers may not trust in these people, as they are not loyal. Apparently, the continuous shifting of houses, schools are detrimental for leading a steady life. The problems and challenges of a very new environment are not always favorable. The insecure jobs and income may put their life in a miserable condition.

In conclusion, be loyal to a company and changing jobs frequently has its own merits as well as demerits. One should think deeply about it before choosing either. In my perception, I favor in continuing one company or same job, at least for a period of six yrs.