TOEFL - checking more news resources lead to more truthful, less prejudiced and a faster information

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources.

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Within the last few decades, there has been an unprecedented development of social media due to the great advancement of the Internet. I claim that a person must get information from many various news resources to be well-informed, because it is more likely for us to get access to true information with less bias faster than people who have only one resources.

Firstly, having more resources can increase the rate of getting true information. As we all know, people are inclined to have different perspecitves to one object, not to mention experienced news journalists. Take a car accident as an example: some journalists report information which is favorable for drivers, while others defend for victims. As a result, the public are exposed to a more comprehensive horizon. So, I believe that we should learn from more resources, in order to be well-informed.

Secondly, it is hard to doubt that sometimes journalists maintain stereotypes to different groups of people. Journalists, who have capacity to influence individuals in society, can hardly avoid prejudice. For example, some reporters tend to give juicy gossip of celebrities to create bad impressions of them , because they don't believe that these famous stars behave well in their daily lives. They are facilitated to chase after celebrities to obtain harmful news, which will also lead audiences to make wrong judgements. More resources can drive us to judge by ourselves not by bias and we can be well-informed.

Last but not least, more resources means that we have more oppotunities to get information quickly and conveniently. Those social media and their journalists are located in different regions in the country. Due to various geographic locations, some of media can arrive at spots faster than others, so they can report earlier as well. I states that speed is crucial for us to become well-informed.

In conclusion, we should get access to more resources in order to become well-informed, because more news resources lead to more truth, less prejudice and a faster speed to get news.