Children should only start formal education after being graduated from an informal school

Children's education question

"In some countries it is thought advisable that children begin formal education at four years old, while in other they do not have to start school until they are seven or eight. How far do you agree with either of these views?"

Children´s education is a long-term discussion among pedagogues and parents. For some, informal tuition plays an important role at children development, more than its formal aspects. One of the most argued topics from that contest is the age that schooling should begin. In my opinion I disagree with early formal education but I also believe that late formal education does not fit into our modern life.

At an early age, our brain works as a sponge, absorbing any information from the environment that surround us. This is the time when children should live a large number of experiences by themselves, always oriented by adults. Those experiences are what will impact later their´s formation and character. Children are born to play and learn by having fun with their peers. Until my 7th birthday I had never walked into a kindergarten and all my knowledges at that age came from my own experiences with my little friends and family. My parents have always told me that I loved to discover new things and listen to their stories.

In some countries, parents have become encouraged to start their' s children formal education earlier, by the age of four. This is a world tendency that have no turn back. Our modern life has increased the competitiveness among person and formal education plays a very important aspect in that game. Today's market labor has set high standards for professionals who should carry as many higher education degrees as possible. This exigency leaves no option then to force kids to start school before their parents did. A negative point of this trend is that today´s kids will have short childhood with an unmeasurable harm to the society and themselves in the future.

To conclude, besides being part of that modern society which value money and work more than anything, I defend the idea that children should only start formal education after being graduated from informal schools, what happens around the age of seven.