College and university fees. The tuition in tertiary education is a controversial topic.

COLLEGE AND UNIVERSITY FEES

*Topic: In some countries, students have to pay their own college and university fees while in others, government pays. Do the advantages of government spending their money on college and university fees for students outweigh the disadvantages?

The tuition in tertiary education is a controversial topic. While some people say that it is advantageous if governments pay university fees, I am in favor of the idea that students have to pay on their own.

There are several reasons why it is thought to be more beneficial when tuition is paid by governments. Firstly, this may reduce the economic burden on families and students. People earning low incomes might be afraid of education fees; however, with the support of governments, their children have more opportunities to expand their knowledge and to be more skilled. Secondly, the equality between the poor and the rich is enhanced since everyone can study in colleges and universities for free. For this reason, the literacy standard may increase as well as we might have a more well-educated public.

On the other hand, it seems to me that governments should not spend money on students' tuition for some following reasons. To begin, the government's budget might be reduced, and its investment on improving infrastructure, products and other fields declines. As a consequence, tax rises significantly whereas living standards can decrease, leading to a slow development of the economy. Furthermore, if university fees are free, students tend to be less respectful. They may not appreciate the value of money spent by the government. Therefore, perhaps not all of them attend classes frequently, resulting in low quality education.

In conclusion, there are various conflicting views about whether the government should pay tuition for college and university students. Nevertheless, I am convinced that its drawbacks outweigh its benefits.