Colleges shouldn't offer more courses to prepare students; 'value system'

Any suggestions is appreciated~~ Please~~

TOPIC:Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Colleges or Universities should offer more courses to prepare students for the future before they start working.

Have you ever seen the spectacular scene in the career fair? Job competitions are indeed fierce, that most of the undergraduates in China are currently dealing with one problem: Unemployment. Therefore, many colleges and universities come up with a way to improve the employment rates of their graduates: offering job preparations. While, considering the impact on schools and students, I think it is not a good idea.

To start with, the strength of schools is influenced from two aspects. Hard power, firstly, is hurt by holding so many preparation programs, since all these programs cost money. As is known to all that schools' funding is limited, and most parts of it should be put into scientific research. Thus if paying to much attention to those job preparations, the research development speed will slow down. Also, those programs can contaminate the pure academic atmosphere. The main purpose of education should be to provide students with a value system, a standard, a set of ideas, not to provide them with a certain job. Hence, students will be misled by those preparation, and schools' soft power in return is diminished. These two aspects tell us that for the schools' future, job preparations should be canceled.

Job preparations also cause harm to some students. As a matter of fact, not all students are preparing to enter the society after graduation; some might choose to pursue their master and doctor degree, some might be willing to take one year off and travel around to increase their life experiences, others may already have their own opinions about starting a new business. In either case, it would be better for schools to set them free rather than demand them to attend the preparations.

Aren't there any benefit of organizing such job preparations? Of course the answer will be yes, that with the help of the schools, students could find their jobs easily. They could learn many useful and practical knowledge about how to survive in the cruel competitions of employment, they would be taught the appropriate business manners which are beneficial to their future work, but lives have to go on by themselves, and to some degree the effect of job preparations is not that much.

In sum, although the job preparations are well-intended, they are detrimental to the schools power and are useless to some of the students. Considering those factors, it would not advisable for colleges and universities to offer students the job preparations before they start working.