Comparing living with parent and living in campus

" Should students live with parents or stay on campus ? " may be the question that people have when they enter university. Some individuals may choose to live with their parent whereas others want to stay outside. Despite bearing some minor similarities such as residing within a community setting and navigating relationships, living with parents and living on campus hold remarkable dissimilarities namely the level of independence and regulations.

To begin with, living with parent and living in campus are different in terms of the level of independence. To be more specific, undergraduate students who reside with family are more dependent on their parent than those staying outside. For example, dormitory students have to fulfill a wide range of tasks by themselves such as doing household chores, managing their own schedules and finances, whereas those living with family will be assisted by parent and rarely have to do these works.

Another difference is rules and regulations. In other words, unlike those living with parent, people who are willing to stay in campus are more comfortable and will not follow some strict rules as at home. For instance, when people reside with family, they have to sleep before 10 p.m and are not allowed to use their smartphone. By contrast, students staying outside can sleep anytime they want or play games all day and night without parent's permission and supervision.

To sum up, the level of independence and regulations are two primary dissimilarities between living with parents and living in campus. In my opinion, I definitely prefer staying in campus to living with parents, since I can foster important skills such as communication, financial management, and be more mature and independent.