TOEFL: complex problems faced by humankind can not be resolved by independent genius.

Is it more important to be able to work with a group of people on a team or to work independantly? Use reasons and examples to support your answer.

As our world has been changing with a great pace during the recent decades, new approaches to organization of work force and development of products evolve. There is no doubt that the methods exploited by industrialists several ages ago are ineffective nowadays. In addition the globalization brings its own requirements and limits to the effective organization of work environment. We have to anylize how companies of all scale function now to answer question whether it is more important to work on a team or independantly.

First, it should be noted that many companies abandon the classical organizational structures organizing people by function performed and utilize more actively project oriented structures, occuring when a group of specialists from different divisions work on the same project. The main reason, in my opinion, is that creation of new products and services requires participation of cross-fuctional teams with diversed experience from engeneering, marketing, and cost-analysis. So there is no chance for a person in such company to be effective contributor if he or she can not communicate with team members adequately.

Second, even individual entrepreneurs operate in the environment which requires interaction with dozens of different organizations, entities, individuals, and regulators. So an employye of a small business who tend to work independently will not find his place in the company.

I want to conclude that modern economy requires people to work in teams because complex problems faced by huminkind in the twenty first century can not be resolved by independant genious.

Dear friends, could you please give comments and share your thoughts on my TOEFL essay?