The Connection between Technology and Trafficking

Human trafficking epidemic

About 20.9 million people are victims of modern day slavery worldwide, or in other words human trafficking (End Slavery Now par.). Human trafficking has always been a problem and is a rapidly growing epidemic. In addition to the fast moving pace of human trafficking, there has been an unforeseen introduction of technology, which is also constantly updating. With this unforeseen introduction there are bound to be some unexpected effects on human trafficking. The internet, specifically, has allowed both positive and negative effects on human trafficking including: the visibility of certain aspects, selling and purchasing victims, changes in state and federal policy, and education and prevention. People need to be able to fully grasp the concept of human trafficking and understand that this is a worldwide epidemic to bring about change.

To begin it is important to be able to define human trafficking and to identify different types of exploitation. The United Nations defines human trafficking as follows:

"The recruitment, transportation, transfer, harboring, or receipt of persons by improper means (such as force, abduction, fraud, or coercion) for an improper purpose including forced labor or sexual exploitation."

Although the definition the United Nations provides only lists two types of exploitation, there are many different kinds. Different types of exploitation include: domestic servitude, child labor, bonded labor, forced labor, sex trafficking and forced marriage. Bonded labor might have to do with paying off a debt forcefully and forced marriage might seem unrelated to that but all of the examples fall under the same umbrella. Human trafficking is a worldwide epidemic that affects the United States as well. There are over 14,000 victims brought into the United States every year. (GO Ozoe par 1). Many do not realize that it happens here in Phoenix. In fact out of every 4 young homeless adults 1 has experienced sex trafficking here in Arizona.

Along with the growing epidemic of modern day slavery the field of technology is growing accordingly. One of the reasons the internet is on the rise is it has integrated itself within other devices, such as mobile devices, and now the internet is easier to access than ever before. According to internet world statistics, the percentage of internet users has almost doubled from December of 2007 to December of 2017 (Internet Growth Statistics, par. 5). Not only does the internet provide access to mass amounts of information, it also provides visibility. The word visibility can also be exchanged for traceability, in which some cases of exploitation can be traced back to its source. The University of New Hampshire has founded a research center called the Crimes Against Children Research Center. The research team have conducted numerous projects, one of which concluded the following:

"In 2011, Mitchell, Jones, Finkelhor, and Wolak found that an estimated 569 arrests for Internet-facilitated commercial sexual exploitation of children occurred in the United States in 2006." (Laterno par 4).

Of the 569 arrests, 36 percent were sold or purchased children for sexual purposes through the internet. Although there is a significant amount of research it is still inconclusive whether or not there are more victims due to technology. However there is evidence that people are being sold and purchased online, as seen in the previous example.

Many are wary to make changes to policies without fully understanding the effects of technology on trafficking. Still changes have been made. As of 2012 every state, not including Wyoming, have made trafficking illegal. (Update) In recent years legislation has recognized that technology comes in a number of forms, not just computers. Different state legislatures are taking different approaches to define criminal acts involving technology. "Technology assisted exploitation" vary among states and are described very specifically. (Examples) A collaboration between Yahoo and Polaris Project, originally initiated by Attorney General Kamala Harris, displays a hotline number if the term "human trafficking" is searched on yahoo.

In a speech former President Barack Obama states, "We're encouraging tech companies and advocates and law enforcement-and we're also challenging college students-to develop tools that our young people can use to stay safe online and on their smart phones." (Laterno par 1). Through the legislation that has been put in place, education and prevention have become more feasible for the uneducated. The internet provides opportunities to educate or get the help one needs.

Human trafficking is the exploitation of unsuspecting persons and it very much a growing epidemic worldwide. There is an array of different types of trafficking that affect innocent lives every day. With the rise of the internet trafficking has been affected in more ways than one, both positive and negative. Although research has been found, the connection between technology and trafficking is nowhere close to being fully understood. Hopefully with the data that the internet has provided people will take it upon themselves to educate themselves on the topic. Enough knowledge and education can help prevent cases of exploitation in the future.

My essay could definitely be stronger in my thesis statement. I just feel like it not well put together or strong. I think the peer review will help me with this portion. I also think I could do better integrating my quotes. The longer quotes don't seem long enough but are also not short enough, for the format. I could just look up the length requirements for that. Finally I think I could use a more attention grabbing introduction. I mean the fact is interesting but doesn't grab your full attention. I just have to be creative for this problem.