Counter argument: Is a gap year precious time for exploration and reflection or a year-long vacation

A gap year is a renowned definition for learners at university since they can pause their study progress depending on distinct conditions and needs. However, some learners need clarification about the usage of a gap year, is it a precious time to explore and research or rest during this period? Honestly, I strongly believe that a gap year is a suitable span for students to prepare needed skills and knowledge for university, and explore new things around the world, rather than enjoy a gap year as a treasured time for relaxing and going on vacations. Specifically, there are two primary reasons for this thought, which are the ability to be familiar with the further conditions, and the greatest chance to earn realistic experiences.

First and foremost, learners can use their gap year effectively to get used to the university's background, since it is distinct from high school or secondary school. Within a gap year, students can search for the course's information if they are not ready, look at the syllabus carefully, and design their study progress logically. In this way, learners can be active in an academic environment without fear, and perform a better result for the next semester. Not only their academic performances are better, but they also demonstrate interest during studying. For instance, in a distinct environment like a university, students will not be reminded of tasks or works by the teacher, but students have to collect information individually. Therefore, a lack of soft skills leads to the scene of being missing out, which poses a huge risk in academic results.

Moreover, a gap year is the greatest time for students to explore new things around them and enhance their realistic ventures. Since humans are living in an era with various changes and developments daily; therefore, it might be regretful for students to pay attention to their studying only. With the ambitions, dreams, and efforts that teenagers and students have, taking a gap year to try a new lifestyle, enhance soft skills, identify strengths, and enhance it is not a bad idea. For example, some students recognize they have a second favorable major regardless of their faculty at school, hence, taking a gap year to modify the environment and consider their strengths is a sensible determination.

However, a gap year - in some people's thoughts - is worth going on a vacation, enjoying themselves with various leisure activities, and putting their minds at ease after long working hours. In contrast, I strongly believe that this is a waste of time for a gap year to be taken as a relaxation. Specifically, spending a long period of relaxation results in wasting time and money. Going on vacation costs a huge amount of expenses including accommodation or transportation fees. Not only that, going on a vacation within a year ruin the chance to grow, and the opportunity to enhance personal background information such as academic result or experiences. In this way, these people will miss out when they attend their classes, and decrease their eagerness to study. For example, while their colleagues spend time studying and increasing self-development, they just enjoy the sea taste or worldwide dishes. Thus, taking a gap year to rest is not recommended rather than to prepare essential skills and explore new things worldwide.

In brief, a gap year has two sides based on students' decisions and usage, therefore, consider carefully before taking a gap year and construct a logical plan to apply this precious time effectively is recommended. A gap year can be sufficient with suitable intentions such as using this period to adapt to a brand-new environment and explore further things around, wasting a gap year to go on a holiday is not suggested as an action with positive outcomes. Time is precious and never returns, so do not let your treasured time fade away because of careless determinations.