WRITING TASK 2: IN MANY COUNTRIES AROUND THE WORLD, LIFE EXPECTANCY IS INCREASING

There is evidence that the increase in life expectancy has appeared globally. Whilst a variety of drawbacks of this trend are witnessed, I truly believe that the benefits may outweigh them.

There are 2 main disadvantages can be seen in this tendency. The more noticeable one is the pressure on social care grows. The governments in many developing countries are less likely to cope with the issue that more people claim pension benefits, nor the needs of an ageing population. By way of example, Cambodia or the Phillippines, may feel struggle to meet an ever increasing number of retired workers and pension commitments, due to the greater funding demands. Another problem is that increased longevity can negatively affect the balance between the fertility and mortality rates. For instance, Japan are now facing a higher burden on the shrinking working population.

Take a look on the upside, the growth in life expectancy encounters various positive consequences. Firstly, people assume that this trend can boost human companionship among different generations. The much time the retired have with their family, the more meaningful memories can be built. Besides that, life expectancy at birth measures health status across all age groups. Being able to predict how populations will age has enormous implications for the planning and provision of services and support. As an effect, the authorities can plan decades ahead and make the quality of life more better and better.

To sum up, increased longevity in many societies have both pros and cons. Whereas the negative side of this trend mostly relates to general social matters, the postive one are mostly with respect to individuals, which can gradually justify those obstacles.

Dear friend who is going to read and evaluate my essay, I am an amateur and still lack lots of skills in writing

Please feel free to point out my mistakes and give me appropriate ways to fix it.