[IELTS WRITING TASK 2] In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year

In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is a promoted idea for youngers to take a gap year upon highschool graduation before entering university in some countries, which has both pros and cons that require careful evaluation before drawing a conclusion.

An evident advantage to having a break is that they can develop social skills including communication and problem-solving, which are beneficial for further education as well as their career later on. By working or traveling, young people are exposed to real life scenerios, allowing them to respond creatively on the spot. For example, while traveling, they might have to talk to strangers if they get lost, or learn how to survive a night in the cold weather with little to no food. These personal experiences will help them gain better understanding of themselves regarding strengths and weaknesses to determine what they want to major in if they decide to go to a university. Another strong point is that it helps saving time and resources. Once they are aware of their choices, one might opt for vocational school to attain a certificate to do the job they want with less time and money.

In spite of the mentioned benefits, one might argue that the time might be a waste if they do not get a professional intellectual job or if the trips are luxurious ones with little opportunity to sharpen their life skills. While it is a valid concern, it might be the case for a small number of young people with financial privileges, and even then, the skills learned from personal experiences are unique and cannot simply be measured by a brief observation.

Overall, it is apparent that the pros of taking a gap year before attending university outweigh the cons in a number of different ways. I am of the opinion that young people should be encouraged to do so.