Young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year. Agree or Disagree?

In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies.

Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In many part of countries, many young people have a break after graduating from high school. For this reason, some people think that it is good for pupils to work and to travel before entering university since this trend can help young people to obtain life and work experince. On the other hand, for some others, they argue a gap year is a waste of time and money. Therefore, I personally believe this approach would give a significant impacts for students.

Most people think that a gap year would help teenagers to gain some work and life experiences prior to starting university. For teenagers, traveling offers an opportunity broaden their horizons and recognize about different countries and also cultures. Therefore, spending time in a new place while working makes for a less superficial meeting than only being there as a holidaymakers. Also, traveling provides work experience and improve their foreign language skills. Additionally, a gap year could assist students are becoming independent as it would need some organization skill to manage their finances by themselves. In other words, working and traveling experiences would develop some skills to young people.

However, there are some negative effects for this approach. Firstly, the most serious problem about a gap year would give negative impact on teenagers' future academics peformance as they may lose their motivation to continue their formal education at the university. Thus, traveling and working in young age would definitely waste their time since the work experience gained may not be very relevant to a person's career in the future.

To summarize, although some people think that a gap year only wastes young people's time, I firmly believe this trend would be useful for them in the next years ahead. It is imperative that young people should decide how they want to spend a gap year prior to studying at the University.