Crime is a serious problem in most countries and the crime rate has tendency to increase annually

Please help me check this essay!

Causes of crime and solution

Topic

Each year, the crime rate increases

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity.

My essay

It is true that crime is a serious problem in most countries, in particular, the crime rate has tendency to increase annually. There are a variety of possible reasons for this, but steps can be taken to control illegalities.

There are 3 main factors which people blame for the escalation in criminal behavior. The first and also the biggest cause of this problem is education deficiency. Several studies indicate that most of crimes were committed by people who had dropped out of high school or secondary school. Low educational background, along with parental neglect, often leads to the creation of more people with resentment towards society. Secondly, poverty is also a major cause of crime, people being struggling with financial problems tend to break the law more than others. Finally, alcohol and drug addiction could easily drive people to become offenders because they cannot control their behaviors.

However, several measures could be carried out to tackle this issue. To start with, strict punishments can act as a deterrent against crime. A sentence of five years' imprisonment, for instance, instead of three years for the same illegality can make people to consider carefully before making any law-breaking activities. Also, education contributes to heighten people's intellect and to form a civilized society. With access to high quality educational services, people would be equipped with knowledge about how crimes have negative influence on their communities, as a result the crime rate will decrease eventually. Furthermore, developing a healthy economy can solve many problems related to financial status or alcohol and drug abuse because of the decline in unemployment rate.

In conclusion, there are various causes as well as measures people need to take into consideration when dealing with crimes.