Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes

recidivism phenomenon

It is true that a large number of criminals are likely to recommit crimes after punishment. There are several reason for repeating crimes and the goverments could mitigate this issue by appropriate policies.

Firstly, it is difficult to find jobs because of past criminal record as well as lack of vocational skills. For example, employers usually do not hire ex-prisoners because they scare ones will commit crimes again. Additionally, although they might be reformed individual, society just see them as a guilty, therefore, they have become more and more complex themselves. Consequently, ex-prisoners tend to get into crime so as to get over their poverty. Secondly, they want to earn money quickily as before so they quited vocational training in order to continuing illegal acts such as: bulglary, exortion, blackmail, pickpocket,... They are used to making money easily so they cannot stop it even afer getting punished.

The government should propose reasonable policies to curb this problem as soon as possible. Prisons should provide offenders with education as vocational training so that they get the job easier when they are realeased. In addition, the responsibility of police department to educate the public about different aspect of any crime. Therefore, they can create acceptance for reformed criminals and give them opportunities to lead a normal life.

In coclusion, it is clearly that any ex-criminals could commit crimes again after serving a long time in prison but if society provide suitable measure to correspond to the causes, this problem would decrease significantly