IELTS- T2: Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished?

why criminals re-offend after being discharged from prison

Topic: Many criminals re-offend after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Today, the issue of why criminals re-offend after being discharged from prison has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Although this problem can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be taken to tackle that.

Several reasons are cited to explain the emergence of this problem. First, since offenders are poverty, they will be inclined to commit crimes after releasing from prison. In fact, because of their criminal records, they are unaccepted in society, which makes finding a job more difficult and they often have no way of making a living as a result that they have to continue breaking laws. Second, by being sent in prison, offenders mix with other criminals who can be a negative influence. They are easily persuaded to continue engaging in unlawful activities.

Nevertheless, there are several feasible solutions to this problem. First, in order to reduce the rate of crime, governments should have rehabilitation programs that prisoner for release into society. For example, prisons should provide education and vocational training for offenders to learn new skills like cooking, and gardening, which helps criminals return to the community. Second, if offenders feel useful in their communities, they will not re-offend. Plenty of evidence suggests that when offenders are accepted in society as others, they are able to find a job that helps them support themselves and their family, which leads to the delinquency's reduction.

In conclusion, this problem is caused by many reasons, and some solutions will be considered to solve it. By considering all reasons, governments can choose the best decision to diminish the rate of crime.