It's crutial for students to understand concepts and ideas - faster learning, better understanding.

Knowledge is one of the most important aspects of our life. Human beings have been seeking for knowledge since of their existence. There are variety ways to gain knowledge. Some people believe that it is better to learn facts; others have a completely different opinion. They presume it is better to learn ideas and concepts. In my sight, the second opinion is much better rather than the first opinion because of several reasons. In the rest of this essay I will demonstrate two of them.

The main reason is that it makes the learning process progresses faster and also leads to a better understanding. When you become aware of the concepts of something, you can comprehend whole content and solve problems related to it. In contrast when you just rely on facts, if the problem gets change, you are not capable to solve it and which solution you must utilize. For example, I am computer engineer and we face different issues when we are developing an application. Thus, if we did not learn concepts, we would not have this capability to solve the problem. I remember one time my cousin and I faced a problem in our application's database. Although it was a tough problem, I knew where this problem might be because I was aware of the way which databases work. But my cousin did not have any idea what the problem is because he had just learned how to face some specific problems. As you can see, Learning ideas and concepts lead to a better understanding.

Another reason is that you would not forget what you learned. When you learn about ideas and concepts and you understand them, they will remain in your mind for so many years. In contrast if you just memorize facts, you must review them repeatedly or you would eventually forget them. For instance, there was a time which I was enthusiastic to learn android programming. I was trying so hard but I did not achieve any success. I read different books and memorized their examples. But when it came to use them in my own application, I did not remember any of those examples. As you can guess, I changed my learning style. I searched for ideas and concepts of android's elements. Consequently, I gained what I expected. As a result, this example shows how important is learning concepts and ideas.

As I mentioned, I completely agree with this statement that learning concepts and ideas are much more important rather than learning facts. Not only would it result a better understanding the whole content, but also contents would remain longer and better in your mind. I hope students consider my points and change the way they study, if they concentrate only on learning facts.