The dark side of globalization should not be ignored

Do the benefits of globalization outweigh the drawbacks ?

It is an indisputable fact that globalization is more common in modern society around the world, while there have certainly been some benefits to tread and communication, the dark side that it has brought about should not be ignored, and this essay aims to highlight both points of view.

There are some plausible reasons for supporting the globalization. The first important advantage of globalization is that it is a vert necessary motivation that pushes the development of the economy. It cannot deny that business is becoming increasingly international and this means free trade between the countries with different political institutions and strengthen the political relationship. Vietnam, a communist country is ready to cooperate with every country around the world like America, Japan, or even Russia and Cuba. Many people completely agree that globalization is the vital factor that creates employment opportunities, reduces poverty, and improves working conditions, especially in developing countries. In the globalized society, developed countries and large corporations tend to shift and invest in less developed countries. Vietnam is currently calling for investment form any countries and the government report is that foreign investors increasingly 56% over the same period last year.

The primary weakness of the globalization is that can also lead to unemployment and exploitation because the rate of the skilled worker over the total number of worker has been lower and lower. This can generate redundancies and jobless among the people who are not trained and they are ready to accept the low salary and work in the poor conditions to earn a living. China, the largest factory in the world where has a lot of cheap labor so that many foreign businesses are moving to this country to hire this cheap labor force. These workers have to work under poor conditions as well as work long hours a day with low wages. Many people agree that globalization is the cause of environmental pollution because the developed countries move old machines and outdated technology to set up companies for cost savings. Therefore, their wastewater treatment technology is not up to international standards and these wastes contain a lot of toxic substances that can cause pollution when released into the environment. Some years ago, Vietnam to cope with environmental disasters, especially the marine environment when the Formosa steel factory has dumped a lot of waste into the waters of the central province and according to experts predict it will take us about fifty years to restore such waters.

To sum up, globalization not only has some positive consequences but also brings negative results. However, globalization is a popular trend that can be inevitable because there are more benefits than drawbacks