Dealing with first-time offenders and criminals - essay

Some people think criminals should get longer terms in prison while others think there are others ways to reduce the crime rate. Discuss

Nowdays,with the development of the technology,it is easy for us to find the crime rate is growing.this trend arouse public concern.Some people think criminals should get longer time in jail .But others think there are others ways to reduce the crime rate,so they do not need to stay in the prison for a long time.For my opinion,I think it depends the crime. like it is a heinous crime or misdemeanour and this person is a first-time offender or repeat criminal.

First,if the offender commits a petty crime,we should be lenient and give a chance to the criminal to reform himself/herself.the law enforcement agencies should give the culprit more knowleage instead of staying in jail,a misdemeanour was closed in the cell may lead to the trauma and resent society,as this offender was a law-abiding citizens who broke the law accidently.we just need them to know they disobeyed the law and it was wrong,they need to admit their fault and would like to reform themself.

Secondly, if this person is a hardened criminal, it means this offender is a premeditated crime and its criminal tendency is high, it is impossible for the crimes to correct himself/herself.The law enforcement agencies should put the crimes in the cell for a long time and educate criminals until they are sure the offenders were realized their crime and would like to change themself turely,also the law enforcement agencies should obseve these crimes in the cell for a long time,if the crimes's performance is good and there is not any crime happened again then let them go to a special place to study.the purpose of this acting is to avoid revert to crime.

Thirdly,if the offender is a repeat criminal,no matter the crime is a heinous crime or a misdemeanour,the law enforcement agencies should put the offender in the prison for a long time to make sure a safe society,or else the recidivism rate is high because they know they do not need to stay in the cell they will be free in a short time.

All in all,the law enforcement agencies should deal these crimes by different way .First-time offender should be givem more chance to regret themself and the repeat-crime should be educated for a longer time.