Developing public transportation or making a new type of car? What should be goverment's priority?

The proliferation of private cars on the roads in many parts of the world has led to serious problem of pollution and may contribute to global warming. some people think that government should spend money for development of public transportation system in order to help alleviate this problem. Other think it is better to spend money for the development of electric car and other types of cars that may cause less pollution.

do you think it is better for government to spend money developing public transportation or developing new kinds of cars? why or why not? give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

More attention should be paid on how to reduce the pollution released into the atmosphere by cars' emission. As such, many a person contends that to alleviate this multifarious problem is heavily relied on a new invention of car. However, I would personally argue that the governments involvement should not be completely disregarded.

The first viable solution is a new type of an electric car. A 2006 study conducted by U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) shows that the pollution released by an electric car is approximately 70 percent less than the average compact gasoline-powered vehicle. From this indisputable fact, this invention is able to cut the global warming emission.

In addition, the electric car can lower a budget for subsidizing gasoline and alters it for supporting trees-planting programs. Singapore, for example, has reduced the subsidy of gasoline by encouraging citizens to use solar-powered cars so as to hold event for planting a thousand trees . As it can be seen, the electric car also is closely related to restrict a considerable amount of pollution.

However, governments as a decision maker should implement suitable policies to this global problem. Firstly, a tax charge which citizens have to pay for getting over a city center has discouraged commuters to take their own private car and is used for constructing the comfortable public transport. For instance, Beijing's inhabitants are more likely to use a bus, which is more convenient, to travel to the city center due highly to considering the cost of tax charge. Moreover, the government should set up 3-in-1 transportation system. Likewise, Indonesia has implemented this system since 2007 in some areas, namely Jakarta and Bandung cities. This system does not allowed one car which the passenger is less than 3 people to get over the two areas. As a result, the substantial number of private cars has decreased gradually. All of this point out how important the government involvement in the global warming reduction.

The aforementioned evidence reveals that besides involving an invention of a new type car, to restrict the great deal of pollution requires an effective transportation system. Where possible, people should be wise to use their private cars to travel.