IELTS:Development of transportation has enabled people to travel conveniently

Please help!

Nowadays, thanks to the development of transportation, people can travel to other countries conveniently. However, the differences about cultures become a barrier of travelling; as a result, briefly understanding the culture that people come is quite important. In my opinion, I think that there are advantages and disadvantages to this argument.

Let us start by looking at benefits of briefly understanding the culture travellers and business people come. The obvious benefit is communication. When you visit a new culture that is different from your hometown; certainly, you have problems to contact with local people. Consequently, you difficultly express your ideas and your trip's purposes are failed. For examples, in Western culture, it is impolite to ask other people's income which is quite common in Asian countries; therefore, if you come to European countries, you should avoid asking that to show your politeness and respect to local people. This demonstrates an apparent conclusion that it is necessary to understand in brief culture that you come.

Turning to the other side of argument, finding information about the culture you come also has drawbacks. In the first place, it wastes your time. You visit there in short time period; therefore, it doesn't require you to understand the culture you come. Also, the culture is various with different aspects and you cannot understand in one or two days which takes you a lot of time to study. What is more, you just brief understand; as a result, you might forget it quickly after a long time not using it. If you are travellers or business people, you should hire a translator or a tour guide who are local people to help you more effectively rather than find information by yourself. You trip might become more interesting and effective with their helps.

In conclusion, brief understanding the culture you come has not only benefits but drawbacks also. You might be able to communicate better even when you live in a new culture; however, it requires you to spend time on studying. As a result, before travelling to a new country with a new culture, you should consider your choices carefully to make your journey become more successful.

Task 1:

The table below give information about changes in modes of travel in England between 1985 and 2000.

The table below illustrates the change in how much miles each person travelled annually on average by different ways of travel between 1985 and 2000.

In general, in this period, the modes of travel without fuel decreased which was contrast with other modes using fuel. Also, the yearly average distance each person travelled significant increased.

In details, in 1985, the total average yearly distance of each person was 4740 miles. In which, travelling by cars was the most common and it took up most of distance people travelled each year and taxi was the least common with 13 miles travelled by a person annually.

In the year 2000, the total distance significantly jumped from 4740 up to 6475 miles; however, travelling by cars still was predominant with the increase in distance by this mode about 1600 miles. With taxi, the figure for this means of transport was three times as much as this number in 1985. Bot walking and bicycle become less popular. It is marked that local bus, which was public means of transport, also nearly halved. Meanwhile, long distance bus, train and other went down.