Air travel only benefits the richest people; airplane development - IELTS

Air travel only benefits the richest people, majority people take no advantage from development of airplane.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Almost as soon as the aircraft was invented, people have never stopped their efforts in air traveling industry. Far less certain, however, is whether the endeavor in the development of airplane is particular served for wealthy minority or the normal majority?

While it is unclear if the progress achieved in the airline industry can actually change the lives of common people, it does decrease their cost of air travel for them. The intense competition between the different airline companies resulted from the advanced airplane manufacturing technology, forces the companies to offer discounts in air fares to stabilize their original market and attract new customers. Therefore the available cheap tickets expand the choices of majorities who focus on economical travel rather than the efficiency. In addition, the convenience of short-time travel provided by airplane is preferred to long-time journey on train when it comes to long-distance. Furthermore, as improvement of the people's living quality, air travel is no longer the privilege of rich people. Even some economical airline companies accentuate their target on ordinary people with advertising of low-cost airline tickets.

Despite the growing popularity of air travel, they still pose a huge budget for majority people. In some underdeveloped areas, it might take several years in saving before people can afford their first-time air tickets. Thus it is unrealistic for them to cheer for the achievement of airline development when it is so disconnected from their lives. It seems only the rich people who have bunch of leisure and spare cheques deserve the chance to enjoy the prosperity of airline.

From my own perspective, it might be exaggerated if we praise the progress on airplane for benefiting majority people, but given the frequency at which people travel through airplane due to the globalization, the air travel will have significant impacts in our lives.