IELTS Task 2 - Different objections against skyscrappers

As populations grow and cities become more crowded, there is pressure throughout the world to construct ever-taller building to provide accommodation and offices. Many people object to such developments, citing the social as well as the physical dangers. Do you agree with objections to skyscrapers?

In this century, population of human around the world is increasing significantly and this trend predicted will continue for several years later. As a consequence, there is high demand to the world for constructing high-rise building in order to meet the needs of the citizens for shelter and workplace. On the one hand, many parties objected this development due to the side effects related to social and security problems. I would argue that this will bring some negatives change in people's life.

The establishment some skyscrapers which are continuing for the next century, particularly in the capital city, brings drawbacks to social life of the inhabitants who lived surround. This will create a wide gap between people with different level of socioeconomic status. For instance, Shanghai known as city with thousand skyscrapers which hide the fact about many slums that not worthy to live and escape the attention of the government. As a result, many a crime is committed, such as theft, robbery and murder because of the higher social jealousies experienced by people who feel injustice.

In addition, high-rise building gives some of problems associated with security and safety of citizens. Construction process is often killed labor due to the complexity of building design and the lack of supporting facilities. Not only this, the condition of a high building can be also highly dangerous, especially in areas prone to earthquakes. When an earthquake occurs, tall buildings have a greater potentially to experience the destruction, and the collapse of this building can take more victims. Japan, for example, made regulations not to build more than ten floors for apartments and office buildings. This is done by the government in order to anticipate earthquake which could occur at any time there.

All in all, although there is an increase in demand for high-rise buildings in order to provide accommodations for society, I would argue that both of government and develop need to work together to carry out preventive measures on various issues against complex problems-related to skyscraper in the future