IELTS - The digital and traditional newspapers

Although more and more people read newspapers on the Internet, newspapers will remain the most important source of news. Do you agree or disagree?

the main source of news

It is true that there has been an increasing number of people considering the Internet a better place to find information when compared to newspapers. I myself strongly believe that as this trend continues, the Internet will soon be as important as the tradition press.

On the one hand, I agree that newspapers will remain as a vital source of information, and will not be completely overwhelmed by the Internet. Firstly, newspapers have always been the most traditional way of catching up on news, and almost everyone prefers having something to hold on their hands when reading to straining their eyes on screens. Also, as the presses hire professional editors and journalists, newspapers are always more reliable and trustworthy when compares to the articles on the Internet.

However, there is a wide range of reason to believe that the Internet will soon be as popular as newspapers. One main reason is that the Internet always offers people with faster access to regularly updated news when compared to the tradition presses which are published only once or twice per day. Additionally, people can easily share their viewpoints and opinions on ongoing events and ague with others. To illustrate, in recent years, many a person has joined Medium - a forum where members write to share stories that matter them and others are allowed to comment directly on the posts.

In summary, it is absurd to argue that the Internet will never be as popular as newspapers. While newspaper's importance might remain unchanged, the online sources of information will soon be equally important.