The dilemma of whether better opt to reside in apartments or tip in favor of living in houses

Some people prefer to live in a house, while others think that there are more advantages living in an apartment.

Do the drawbacks of living in a house outweigh the benefits?

It is unequivocal that nowadays, various people have been facing the dilemma of whether they should opt to reside in apartments or tip in favor of living in houses. While the benefits of staying in houses are valid to a certain extent, I am firmly of the opinion that the drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, there are a host of underlying rationales why dwelling in separate houses could be highly beneficial. One of the key advantages is that owners could have their own personal privacy. For instance, they can renovate the architectural design of their houses, decorate their own preferential styles, enjoy full freedom and their own hobbies, which do not create any disturbances to their neighbors. As a result, these individualized spaces would be somewhat convenient for them, enable them to be truly freshened up. Another significant benefit is that it is far much safer to live in landed houses. Being notorious for devastating tsunamis, Japan profoundly exemplifies this situation. Due to the fact that houses are connected directly with the efficient physical transport system, it is less in peril for Japanese detached houses' owners who can escape from their house with ease than those who reside in high-rise buildings.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of living in a separate house pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Firstly, in spite of the aforementioned safety, these landed houses are alarmingly unsecured. Even though several privileged houses could be well-equipped with private-owned surveillance cameras, this so-called security system is not actually adequate because of the lack of trained security guards available surrounding houses, which could breed burglary, conflagration, and other serious issues. Compared to apartmental conditions, not only do the condominium complexes have professional security officers but each household is also given anti-theft key cards, which is more secured for dwellers. The second drawback that should be taken into consideration is that it takes more time for the house owners to do the cleaning. This is in terms of the fact that a house is more commodious than an apartment. Busy people who find it impossible to spend much time doing the housework would realize that independent houses are not their most ultimate selection when an apartment requires less time to tidy up.

In conclusion, despite several evident benefits that living in a house has, it seems to me that they are dwarfed in comparison with the potential problems.