Disciplinary measures using strict rules of behaviour play an significant role in raising children

To what extent should children have to follow rules?

Disciplinary measures using strict rules of behaviour play an significant role in raising children. However, the extent that children have to follow rules has been a complex problems ever. This following essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of following strict rules.

First of all, tough habitats create responsible and respectful youngster. For instance, Asian parents usually teach their children to take the responsibility whenever they make a mistake, or children have to respect elders and tolerate youngers. Secondly, if kids are treated too leniently, they might be indolent and get out of hand for society's vices such as drugs, alcohol, gambling and so on. This finally leads to burden on the society.

On the flip side, forcing youngsters to obey harsh rules also have some serious drawbacks. This can be mentioned as some children who tend to work against parents if the rules are tremendously trict as they want to be independent. This can cause much worse situation for the community, since adults would like to form a dutiful kid using those hard rules, meanwhile children oppose them. Moreover, a number of teenagers rely on the rules. This fundamentaly destroy their individuality and independence due to the fact that if there is no more rule, they do not know what to do or obey.

To summarise, it is necessary to nurture a child with tough rules, but the rules should be strict in suitable cases. Adults should give children a sufficiently free environment to develope their personalities and self-determination.