IELTS: Discuss TV as educational tool

Question:Some people say that TV is a very useful tool when it comes to education. Others argue that TV is a much overused, ineffective teacher. Discuss both of these views and give your opinion as to the usefulness of TV as an educational tool.

Over the past half century, TV has played a significant role in modern societies. This electric device has also been used as educational material and it influences people with some aspects of advantages and disadvantages.

One advantage is TV education enables people to learn at rural areas. This distance education system has brought vital improvement to students who live in countryside, since they can have same amount of education as students in the city.

Moreover, TV is often used for one on one study. For example, tuition is often taken via TV phone at home. This intervention has great benefit because people do not need to commute a certain place or to pay for the travel to take lessons.

Furthermore, TV has visual and auditory stimulation to learn new information in more effective way. In fact, some scientists have proved that TV education is one of the effective sources to send rememberable information to the brain. It has also great merit that students can study with their own paces. For instance, video lecture can be repeated as much as students want and students do not need to be worried about being hurry during the lecture.

However, TV leaning also has several disadvantages. Some people suggest that it may lead sedentary life and obesity, and it may cause health problems such as heart disease and diabetes mellitus. In fact, a number of people who are addicted watching TV and these people are threatened with several health issues.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages for TV education, the advantages of TV learning are more important to people in the modern societies. If people solve the issues of TV learning, it will bring adequate information to students in the future.