IELTS TASK 2-Discuss Main Aim For University Educaiton

the purpose of going to an university

Many people believe that the main aim for university education is to help graduates to find better jobs, while some people believe that university education has wider benefits for individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views about whether the purpose of going to an university is to offer paths to career success or to make positive impact on student individually and socially. While undergraduate education can sometime be useful to make oneself and society better, I believe that the chance it provides for newcomers to jump start in their chosen career is more important.

On the one hand, the aim for higher education is to build up their abilities from all aspects. Firstly, students learn how to become self-discipline through school life, and hence higher education can lower crime rate. Secondly, they could develop patient and persistence attitude via doing complicated school work, which they could find these personalities useful in creating new ideas, and then increase social welfare by sharing their invention results. Finally, with the experience of working on team projects with their partners, college students could cultivate well-rounded personality, which can adds to their social skills. It can therefore be argued that university education has a considerable impact on both individual and society.

On the other hand, studying in university enable undergraduates to find decent jobs more easily. Employers might consider academic credentials valuable since they can choose competent employees. In addition, students can obtain precious skills such as mathematical computation, statistics analysis and programming. By possessing these skills, students can tackle problems in a more precise way so that they are more likely to be employed by companies such as investment banks or software companies. I believe that this is the most vital thing that student can gain by engaging in university education.

In conclusion, I can understand college significantly affects people and society in many ways, but it seems to me that the working opportunity it gives to undergraduates is of greater importance.